Lena Picture 1.jpg

My Experience

I was content teaching in the early elementary public classroom for 10 years. I enjoyed seeing kiddos learn not only Reading, Math, and Science— but also learn through hands-on activities such as puzzles, arts and crafts, nature walks, etc. However, it became increasingly difficult to maneuver through the storms of standardized tests and unachievable expectations placed upon early elementary students and teachers like myself. This made me extremely frustrated and discouraged with public education. So, I decided to retire from the public school arena in 2017. 

Fortunately, I missed teaching kiddos so much that I decided to become an online reading tutor for an ESL company.  For four years I thrived in this role and received over 2000+ positive comments from parents regarding my  performance as their child’s reading tutor. This inspired me to create my own online business where I offer homeschool academic support in early childhood learning.


 

MY EDUCATIONAL BACKGROUND

I was a wife and mother of three daughters (ages: 17 years, 7 years, 4 years) when I decided to obtain my teacher’s certificate.  I attended college for the first time as a non-traditional student and earned a bachelor’s in  Early Childhood Education (grades Pre-K - 3rd) from Clemson, University in 2006.  I later acquired a master’s in Special Education from Clemson University in 2011.  Through the years, I have been privileged to work with a diverse group of kids from grades Pre-K to 5th grade. I have a reading endorsement (READ to SUCCEED) from the department of education in the State of South Carolina. I am equipped to meet the special needs of various learning styles and capabilities in reading. I also specialize in Pre-K assessment and early interventions through play.